AAHSL New Academic Health Sciences Libraries Committee Charge

Approved June 21, 2013

The AAHSL Board approved the formation of the New Academic Health Sciences Libraries Committee at its annual meeting in November 2012 to reflect its recognition of the unique needs of libraries in new schools.

The Committee is charged with:

- Providing networking opportunities for library directors in new academic health sciences centers
- Identifying unique needs of the new academic medical libraries in the context of existing AAHSL Committees
- Providing training and development activities targeted to meeting the needs of the new academic health sciences library directors
- Managing the AAHSL new libraries discussion distribution list
- Establishing a feedback mechanism between this committee and other relevant AAHSL committees

Topical and development areas covered by this committee may include but are not limited to the following:

- Planning new types of library spaces in born-digital medical libraries (BDL)
- Supporting curriculum-integrated library services and resources
- Staffing and training for librarians and other staff in BDL
- Creating BDL medical collections
- Managing BDL resources and budgeting
- Identifying and meeting challenges and opportunities of start-up libraries in start-up schools
- Integrating medical informatics curricula into library planning
- Assisting new schools with LCME self-study documentation
- Reaching out to new and developing health science libraries and recruiting them to join AAHSL. The committee will provide a list of new schools to headquarters by October 1 each year. The list will indicate the LCME status of each new school so dues and AAHLS membership recruitment strategies will be appropriate to a new school's accreditation status.

The first order of business for this new committee will be development of goals and objectives for 2013-2015 and appointment of 3 members who will receive 3-year appointments. It is expected that as founding committee members rotate off the committee, new members will be appointed and a pattern of staggered terms will emerge over time. To maintain continuity, the incoming chair, the current chair and the previous chair will serve on the committee.

Members

Members				
	2012-13	2013-14	2014-15	2015-16
Chair	Dave Boilard	Nadine Dexter	Debra Rand	TBD
Chair-elect	Nadine Dexter	Debra Rand	TBD	TBD
Past Chair	Barbara/Jacque	Dave Boilard	Nadine Dexter	Debra Rand
Member 1	A	A	A	F
Member 2	В	В	Е	Е
Member 3	С	D	D	D